Ireland’s top youth volunteers recognised in Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards Programme

on Sunday, 01 March 2015. Posted in Press Releases

Pramerica Spirit of Community Awards to honour young volunteers from across the island of Ireland


Young volunteers, who have been working to promote mental health, raise funds for cancer charities and travel abroad to help those less fortunate than themselves are among the 20 finalists who have been recognised this year.

The programme is run in partnership with The National Association of Principals and Deputy Principals (NAPD) and The General Teaching Council for Northern Ireland (GTCNI) andrecognises outstanding acts of volunteerism by Ireland's youth.

The post-primary students, who hail from all corners of Ireland, will be presented with €500 and an engraved silver medallion at the gala awards ceremony on 12th March in the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa with special guest Brent Pope.  At the gala, two of the 20 students will be named All-Ireland Youth Volunteers of the Year, receiving €1,000 for a charity of their choice, a gold medallion, a crystal trophy for their school and an all-expense paid trip to the United States in May to participate in the Prudential Spirit of Community Awards ceremony.

“The caliber of entrants was exceptional this year and we’re delighted to recognise and showcase s such exemplary young people,” said Andrea McBride, vice president, Pramerica. “Since we launched the programme in 2006, the awards have given us the opportunity to acknowledge the voluntary activities of hundreds of extraordinary youth ambassadors who are actively making a difference in their communities. They are the future leaders in our society and they are a benchmark for other young people to strive towards.  We are thrilled to honour their commitment to volunteerism through this awards programme.”

The 20 finalists are:


Ian Armstrong, 15, from Enniskillen Co. Fermanagh
Laura Beston, 18, from Claremorris, Co. Mayo
Tamara Bradley, 17, from Ballybofey, Co. Donegal
Garreth Byrne, 17, from Bray, Co. Wicklow
Megan Daly, 18 from Newry Co. Down
Colm Devine, 17, from Portglenone in Co. Antrim
Roisin Dick, 18, from Co. Monaghan
Noreen Donaghy, 16, from Letterkenny, Co.Donegal
Sophie Donnelly, 18, from Gorey, Co. Wexford
Nathan Goodhall, 16, from Enniscorthy, Co. Wexford
Stephen Loftus, 18, from Ballina, Co. Mayo
Michael Keohane, 17, from Baltimore, Co Cork
Hollie Martin, 18, from Douglas, Co. Cork
Graham Nelligan, 18 from Tralee, Co. Kerry
Eleanor O’Brien, 16 from Clarina, Co. Limerick
Sarah O’Neill, 14, from Bansha, Co. Tipperary
Caoimhín Osborne, 17, from Belfast, Co. Antrim
Rebecca Scott, 19, from Belfast, Co. Antrim
Denis Sullivan, 15, from Whitechurch, Co. Cork
Aileen Toner, 17, from Belfast Co. Antrim